Sarah Obama Solar Learning Centre SOSLC

5

The Sarah Obama Solar Learning Centre (SOSLC) is a vocational training center for solar energy and energy efficiency in western Kenya. Godmother of the project is solar ambassador Sarah Obama, a resident of the region and Barack Obama’s grandmother . The training course for solar technicians at the SOSLC was first held in 2013. Since then, the training has been continuously updated and now takes place annually in three blocks instead.

The primary objective of the course is to train professionals in solar technology. In addition to the theoretical lessons at the SOSLC the budding solar technicians complete a practical training part at the solar company Kenya Solar Solutions (KSS). In addition to the technical expertise, a focus on corporate governance has been added this year. This is intended to aid graduates to be able to run their own solar energy company.

4

Context

In the district of Homa Bay, in western Kenya, in 2010 only 2.7% of households had electricity. The expansion of the electricity network is not foreseen in these regions in the near future. Costly diesel generators are usually used to generate electricity or oil lamps for light. Solar energy is a convenient and effective solution to locally generate electricity.

Due to lack of training facilities for technicians and craftsmen in the solar industry, a large part of working solar technicians in Kenya are not or poorly trained. According to Francis Njoka, a solar experts of Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT), only around one third of over 300,000 solar energy systems are installed correctly. Unfortunately, this greatly reduces the confidence in solar technology because only properly installed and maintained solar energy systems can provide an affordable and sustainable alternative to oil lamps and diesel generators.

 

Approach

The Sarah Obama Solar Learning Centre (SOSLC) was founded in 2013 in order to address the lack of competent solar professionals, the high unemployment rate of young adults and the prevailing energy poverty in the Homa Bay region of western Kenya. Annually 45 solar technicians are trained at the Centre. To date, 39 solar technicians were successfully trained and have installed more than 150 solar energy systems in schools, hospitals, pharmacies and huts.

In addition to the theoretical lessons at the SOSLC, the budding solar technicians complete a practical training part at the solar company Kenya Solar Solutions (KSS), which was built by graduates of the training in 2013. Through the electrification of the region, its economic and social development goes hand in hand with the spread of renewable energy and climate protection.

 

Objectives

To annually train 45 technicians and entrepreneurs at the Sarah Obama Solar Learning Centre. Thereby pursuing the following aims:

1) Increase of trained solar specialists

2) Increase of solar companies

3) Improved access to solar energy

Sarah Obama Solar Learning Centre

5

Das Sarah Obama Solar Learning Centre (SOSLC) ist ein Berufsbildungszentrum für Solarenergie und Energieeffizienz im Westen Kenias. Patin des Projekts ist Solar-Botschafterin Sarah Obama, die in der Region wohnhafte Grossmutter von Barack Obama. Der Ausbildungslehrgang für Solartechniker/innen am SOSLC wurde 2013 zum ersten Mal durchgeführt. Seither wurde die Ausbildung laufend angepasst und findet nun in drei Blöcken jährlich statt.

Primäres Ziel des Lehrgangs ist es, Fachkräfte in Solartechnik auszubilden. Neben dem theoretischen Unterricht am SOSLC absolvieren die angehenden Solartechniker/innen einen praktischen Ausbildungsteil im Solarunternehmen Kenya Solar Solutions (KSS). Zusätzlich zu dem technischen Know-how wurde in diesem Jahr auch ein Schwerpunkt in der Unternehmensführung aufgebaut. Dadurch sollen die Absolvent/innen in der Lage sein, ihr eigenes Solarunternehmen zu führen.

 

4

Kontext

Im Bezirk Homa Bay in Westkenia hatten 2010 nur gerade 2.7% der Haushalte elektrischen Strom. Der Ausbau des Stromnetzes ist in diesen Regionen in naher Zukunft nicht absehbar. Üblicherweise werden kostspielige Dieselgeneratoren verwendet um Elektrizität zu erzeugen oder Öllampen für die Lichterzeugung. Solarenergie bietet hier eine günstige und sinnvolle Lösung um dezentral Strom zu erzeugen.

Aufgrund von fehlenden Ausbildungsstätten für Techniker und Handwerker im Solarbereich ist ein Grossteil der berufstätigen Solartechniker/innen in Kenia jedoch nicht oder nur mangelhaft ausgebildet. Gemäss Francis Njoka, einem Solarexperten der Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture und Technology (JKUAT) funktioniert nur rund ein Drittel der bisher über 300‘000 installierten Solaranlagen richtig. Leider senkt dies das Vertrauen in die Solartechnik stark, da nur korrekt installierte und gewartete Solarsysteme eine kostengünstige und nachhaltige Alternative zu den Öllampen und Dieselgeneratoren bieten.

Lösungsansatz

Um dem Mangel an kompetenten Fachkräften, der hohen Arbeitslosigkeit junger Erwachsener und der herrschenden Energiearmut in der Region Homa-Bay, Westkenia entgegenzuwirken, wurde 2013 das Sarah Obama Solar Learning Centre (SOSLC) gegründet. Jährlich sollen 45 Solartechniker/innen am Zentrum ausgebildet werden. Bislang wurden 39 Solartechniker/innen erfolgreich ausgebildet und über 150 Solaranlagen auf Schulen, Krankenhäusern, Apotheken und Hütten installiert.

Neben dem theoretischen Unterricht am SOSLC, absolvieren die angehenden Solartechniker/innen einen praktischen Ausbildungsteil im Solarunternehmen Kenia Solar Solutions (KSS), welches von Abgängerinnen des Ausbildungsjahres 2013 aufgebaut wurde. Durch die Elektrifizierung der Region geht wirtschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Entwicklung ein-her mit der Verbreitung erneuerbare Energie und Klimaschutz.

Ziele

Jährlich sollen am Sarah Obama Solar Learning Centre 45 Solartechniker/innen und Kleinunternehmer/innen ausgebildet werden. Dadurch werden folgende Ziele verfolgt:

1)              Zunahme an ausgebildeten Solar-Fachkräften

2)              Zunahme von Solarunternehmen

3)              Verbesserter Zugang zu Solarenergie

 

Weiteres

Aktueller Blog über die Berufsperspektiven der Absolventen des Ausbildungzentrums.

Das Sarah Obama Solar Learning Centre auf Google Maps 

Schweizer Unternehmen unterstützen die solare Berufsbildung www.solarlearning.ch